UKMMN Summer School 2022: Flexible and Electromagnetic Metamaterials

About the Summer School

Date: Monday 15 August (lunch time) – 19 August (lunch time) 2022. (Sunday 14/08 arrival and Saturday 20/08 departure possible.)

Format: In person only. Attendees are encouraged to participate throughout.

Venue: School of Physics and Astronomy, University of St Andrews, KY16 9SS, United Kingdom.

Travel: Attendees are expected to arrange their own travel to the venue. St Andrews can be reached via regular bus service from Leuchars Train station, which is well connected to Edinburgh, Dundee and beyond, including the east coastline and direct trains to London. Additionally, a direct bus service to Glasgow, Edinburgh and Dundee is also available.

Participants: PhD students, Early Career Researchers (ECRs), postdocs.

Accommodation: Accommodation can be provided from Sunday 14 August until Saturday 20 August (incl breakfast on Saturday) in the Agnus Blackadder Hall, less than a 20 min walk from the summer school venue. Additional accommodation for those whishing to arrive on Sunday can be booked.

Fees: We ask for a non-refundable commitment fee of £250. The fee is to be paid by the successful applicants within a week through the link provided in the invitation to register. The fee covers accommodation and board from Monday to Friday.

Hardship Fund: For UK based students lacking funding to attend our event, additional support can be thought through a hardship fund. Please submit your support request as part of the Expression of Interest form linked below.

Posters: All participants are strongly encouraged to bring a poster and submit an indicative title of it as part of their registration via the form linked below.



The summer school will see a mix of scientific talks and other career-advancing activities (e.g. funding applications and academic publishing, “meet the editors” event, mentoring), alongside social activities in St Andrews.

Confirmed key note speakers:

  1. Arseny Alexeev, WaveOptics/Snap Inc., Director of Nanophotonics Technology
    • DfM (Design for Manufacturing) approach for modern nano photonics structures
  2. Habib Ammari, ETH Zurich, Professor of Applied Mathematics
    • Wave Interaction with subwavelength resonators
  3. Lucia Caspani, University of Strathclyde, Chancellor’s Fellow and lead of the Quantum Sources and Applications group
    • Nonlinear Optics for Quantum Science
  4. Marcelo Dias, University of Edinburgh, Senior Lecturer in Structural Engineering
    • Thin elastic sheets and kirigami mechanics
  5. Nader Engheta, University of Pennsylvania, Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering  (online talk)
  6. Patrice Genevet, Centre de Recherche sur l’Hétéro-Epitaxie et ses Applications, Head of the Metasurfaces theme
  7. Rachel Grange, ETH Zurich, Associate Professor in the field of integrated optics and nonlinear nanophotonics:
    • Top-down and bottum-up fabrication with metal oxides for nonlinear optics
    • Metasurfaces and Integrated photonic devices based on second-order nonlinear materials
  8. Yang Hao, Queen Mary University London, Professor of Antennas and Electromagnetics
  9. Mitchell Kenney, University of Nottingham, Research Fellow in Ultrathin Optics and Metasurfaces
  10. Patrick Schuster, EV Group, Process Engineer Nanoimprint Lithography
    • Nanoimprinting
  11. Will Whittow, Loughborough University, Professor in Radiofrequency Materials
    • 3D Printed and Anisotropic Materials for Microwave Metamaterials and Metasurfaces


Registration & Payment

Expressions of Interest (EoI) are being accepted until Sunday 10 July 2022, 23:59 BST.

Please submit your EoI here:

We will inform the successful candidates asap upon w/c 11 July 2022 with a link to the payment page.

Payment must be concluded within 1 week upon notification, after which we reserve the right to offer the place to those on the waiting list.


Questions? Want to sponsor?

Please do get in touch with the lead organisers (Dr Sebastian Schulz, Prof Andrea di Falco and/or Dr Anja Roeding (Network Operations Lead):;;