UK Metamaterials Network International Conference on Mechanical Metamaterials

Date: Monday 4th – Wednesday 6th of September 2023

Format: In person.

Venue: Manchester Metropolitan University, Manchester, UK

Travel: The campus and accommodation are in the centre of Manchester, within walking distance of the city’s three main train stations (Oxford Rd, Piccadilly & Victoria). Manchester and the North West of England are within easy reach of international airports at Manchester, Liverpool, Birmingham and Leeds/Bradford.

Accommodation: Here is a list of hotels that Manchester Met has agreed discounts with.

Fees: A non-refundable commitment fee of £250 for UK delegates. The fee is to be paid before the 21st of August, through the link provided in the invitation to register. The fee covers attendance, the gala dinner, abstract book, and lunch/refreshments, and is supplemented by the UK MetaMaterials Network. The fee is £500 for international delegates.

Hardship Fund: For UK delegates lacking funding to attend the conference, additional support can be thought through a hardship fund. Please submit your support request as part of the Expression of Interest form linked below.




Given the support and reach available through UKMMN, we are organising this international conference to celebrate mechanical metamaterials research. A full programme is available at the link here.


Sunday 3rd September: Arrival and welcome drinks

Monday 4th September: Manufacturing and characterising mechanical metamaterials

· Keynote 1: Prof Roderic Lakes, University of Wisconsin: Exceeding classical thermodynamic bounds on Poisson’s ratio and other properties

· Focussed session on auxetic materials and related systems

· Keynote 2: Biruta Kresling, Experimental Designs and Bionics: The Kresling origami pattern

Tuesday 5th September: Designing and modelling mechanical metamaterials

· Keynote 3: Prof Richard Craster, Imperial College London: Elastic Metamaterials

· Keynote 4: Prof Helen Gleeson, University of Leeds: Liquid Crystal Elastomers; a new family of molecular auxetics

· Gala Dinner

Wednesday 6th September: Commercialisation and application

· Keynote 5: Dr Dan Plant, RHEON LABS

Invited Talks:

Dr Marcelo Dias University of Edinburgh
Dr Krzysztof Dudek University of Zielona Góra
Prof Ruben Gatt University of Malta
Prof Joseph Grima University of Malta
Prof Muamer Kadic Université de Franche-Comté
Dr Jakub Narojczyk Polish Academy of Sciences
Prof Fabrizio Scarpa University of Bristol
Prof Krzysztof W. Wojciechowski Polish Academy of Sciences
Prof Amir Zadpoor Delft University of Technology


Registration & Payment 

Based on requests, registrations are being accepted until Monday 14th August 2023, 23:59 BST. Please register here.

If you would like to present, please also submit an abstract by the 14th of August, using the link here (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=icmm20230). Enter the abstract as text into the boxes provided in the EasyChair submission portal.

Payment will be via a link sent with the abstract notification and must be made before the 21st of August to secure your attendance at the conference.

Support: UK Metamaterials Network, others TBC

Full Papers: Presenters will be invited to contribute full papers in Physica Status Solidi B after the conference. The submission details will be given during the conference.


Questions? Want to sponsor?

Please email Olly Duncan and cc info@metamaterials.network.


Organising Committee: Olly Duncan (Co-Chair), Andrew Alderson (Co-Chair), Tom Allen, Shruti Mandhani, Pooya Sareh, Daniel Haid, Jacob Earnshaw

Scientific Committee:

Prof Andrew Alderson* Sheffield Hallam University
Dr Tom Allen* Manchester Metropolitan University
Prof Richard Craster Imperial College London
Dr Richard Critchley Cranfield University
Dr Enrique Cuan-Urquizo Tecnológico de Monterrey
Dr Claire Dancer University of Warwick
Prof Vikram Deshpande University of Cambridge
Dr Marcelo Dias University of Edinburgh
Dr Krzysztof Dudek University of Zielona Gora
Dr Oliver Duncan* Manchester Metropolitan University
Prof Ken Evans University of Exeter
Prof Ruben Gatt University of Malta
Prof Helen Gleeson University of Leeds
Prof Joseph Grima University of Malta
Dr Andrew Gross University of South Carolina
Prof Muamer Kadic Université de Franche-Comté
Dr Zafer Kazanci Queens University Belfast
Prof Roderic Lakes University of Wisconsin
Prof Elena Pasternak University of Western Australia
Prof Xin Ren Nanjing Tech University
Dr Matthew Santer Imperial College London
Dr Pooya Sareh University of Liverpool
Prof Fabrizio Scarpa University of Bristol
Dr Wei Tan Queen Mary University of London
Prof Krzysztof W. Wojciechowski* Institute of Molecular Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences
Prof Philip Withers University of Manchester
Prof Amir A. Zadpoor Delft University of Technology

*Scientific Committee Co-Chairs

Posted on 17th May 2023

Key info

  • Date: 4 Sep - 6 Sep 2023
  • Location: Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Registration deadline: 14 August 2023